Walkabout Autism

This weekend, Sun Life stadium was host to the first annual Walkabout Autism. The event was put on by Dan Marino’s foundation and was dedicated to raising money for and awareness about Autism. I woke up at the crack of dawn to cover the event and actually enjoyed myself which surprised me a bit.

See, when you have my job, you develop somewhat of a numbness towards these types of events, because one, you go to a ton of them and they represent a ton of work, and two, you often see a lot of phoniness on the part of the people who are supposed to be hosting it. Often times an athlete is just out there to boost his rep, and the moment the cameras turn off, he’s ready to bounce.

But this particular event stuck out for me, mostly because of the size. It looked like a freakin U2 concert. Anytime you get that many people together united towards one cause, it’s pretty cool – even for a cynic like me. I guess the people at the Dan Marino Foundation know what they’re doing.

http://support.danmarinofoundation.org/site/PageServer

Here’s some of my video from the event:

http://bcove.me/z48kh2cl

One response

  1. Julia Brebner

    Good correction. Keeps it honest and not too dorky without going too far the other way.

    February 8, 2011 at 6:30 am

Leave a Reply

